In recent years, companies have given their new secret weapons codenames to shroud the products in more mystery.  There has been many rumours about some of the codenames for upcoming Sony devices and now there has been some information being bantered about regarding some of the specs for the Sirius, which all believe will be announced at CES.

The press conference from Sony is scheduled for 5pm PST, 8pm EST, and 1am GMT. Nobody knows exactly what Sony has to show the world over these next few days, but I think that Sirius is going to be one of them.

Sony Sirius To Have 20MP Camera

The alleged specs for the Sony Sirius are that it has the new Snapdragon 805 processor, which is an upgrade from the Snapdragon 800. It’s also featuring a 5.2-inch 2560×1440 resolution display, 3GB of RAM, a massive 20.7MP camera on the back, along with a 3500mAh battery inside powering it all. Not to mention it’s going to have Android 4.4 KitKat as the OS. This would make it the first device from Sony to launch on the most up-to-date version of Android.

Of course, this is not all that Sony has up its sleeve for the coming year. There is another flagship allegedly due out around May. It is codenamed the Canopus but unfortunately there is no information regarding the specs.  If the specs are indeed true then the Sony Sirius appears to be a state of the art device and it seems like a fitting upgrade from the Xperia Z1.  Sony is renowned for having a good battery life on their devices, but packing in a 3500mAh battery in this device should definitely give you great battery life, even with a massive 2560×1440 resolution display.

Sony’s press event starts at 5pm PST from Las Vegas at CES 2014.

[Image via androidheadlines]

SOURCE: http://www.gizbot.com/mobile/sony-sirius-5-2-inch-2k-display-smartphone-snapdragon-ces-2014-news-015098.html