Google+ will start deleting consumer data on April 2. Now users are being urged to begin backing-up their files.
The global brand has officially confirmed when Google+ for consumers will shut down, by releasing a complete timeline.
Now David Conway, G Suite product manager, has confirmed that the “sunset of consumer Google+” will occur on Tuesday April 2.
— Steve Soleimani (@stevesoleimani) January 31, 2019
What has Google said about the process?
“We announced this past fall that we’re sunsetting consumer Google+ in April 2019, and today have more details to share,” said Mr Conway, in a statement.
“While this process of deleting consumer content will take a few months and some content may remain visible during this time, you should take action before April to ensure you don’t lose any content you want to save.”
Conway acknowledged that many different people use Google+. It ranges from everyday consumer users, developers and even teams in business settings. So, because of this, Google is providing the necessary details needed to navigate this change.
He added: “Starting April 2, 2019, we will shut down your Google+ account and any pages you created, and we’ll begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts.
“Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. If you have Google+ content that you would like to save, you must do so before April 2.”
How do I back up my stuff?
Google has supplied users with Google+ account download instructions. These detail exactly how best to gather, download and save your content.
The other dates that you need to know
You will no longer be able to create a new Google+ profile, page, community or event from February 4. By this date the Google+ comment feature should also vanish from Blogger.
Google+ comments on all sites will start to disappear by March 7. Meanwhile all your website comments, made using Google+ will be deleted from April 2.
It will take some time to delete all of the Google+ data. So, bits of your account may be available for the few months after.
Are you a G Suite user?
If you are, don’t worry. Google say that access to other services will not be impacted as part of the shutdown. Google+ for your G Suite account will remain unaffected, however there are a few additional and new look changes coming soon.